Nutrition Tools at UBCO
This page helps you navigate menu icons, allergen lists, nutrition information and online menus like a pro.
Menus in many UBCO Food Service locations are marked with icons. These icons let you know if a food item is prepared to meet your dietary preferences.
Identifies menu items that fit a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet, including eggs, dairy and honey.
Identifies menu items made from plant-based foods only, and exclude eggs, dairy, honey and other animal-derived ingredients.
Identifies menu items using sustainable seafood procured in a way that ensures the long-term health and stability of that species.
Identifies menu items that contain third-party Halal-certified protein.
Made Without Gluten*
Identifies menu items that are made without ingredients containing gluten.
to the risk of cross-contact. If you have celiac disease or a gluten allergy please
let us know before ordering.
UBCO Food Services takes food allergies seriously. The most common allergens are labelled on all prepared food items – peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, milk, eggs, sesame, soy, fish, shellfish, mustard, sulphites and gluten. Learn more on our Allergies page.
We do our best to accommodate students with allergies. Here are three ways to prepare for a year free from allergic reactions:
Ask before you eat
Always tell your server about your allergy before ordering. Ingredients can vary at any given meal. If you have questions about ingredients or preparation, ask to speak with a chef or manager before placing your order.
Need Some Support?
Ask a Question
Students in residence can email us with food or nutrition questions.